West of Eden : an American place
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Random House, [2016].
ISBN
9780812998405, 0812998405
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Acorn Public Library District - Stacks974.4 STEOn Shelf
Alsip-Merrionette Park Public Library District - Stacks979.494 STEOn Shelf
Batavia Public Library District - Adult Nonfiction979.494 STEOn Shelf
Bedford Park Public Library District - Stacks974.4 STEOn Shelf
Berwyn Public Library - Stacks979.494 STEOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
New York : Random House, [2016].
Format
Book
Physical Desc
xiii, 334 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9780812998405, 0812998405

Notes

Description
"An epic, mesmerizing oral history of Hollywood and Los Angeles by the author of the contemporary classic Edie; Jean Stein influenced the art of oral history in her groundbreaking book Edie : American Girl, an indelible portrait of Andy Warhol 'superstar' Edie Sedgwick. Now, in West of Eden, Stein turns her lens toward the city Sedgwick came from--Los Angeles--and a mythic cast of fortune hunters and aspiring moguls whose quests for fame and power destroyed many along the way. West of Eden, a work of history both grand in scale and intimate in detail, tells the stories of five larger-than-life individuals and their families, each one representing different aspects of Los Angeles and the American dream. There is Edward Doheny, the Wisconsin-born oil tycoon whose corruption ruins the reputation of a United States president and leads to his own son's violent death. Jack Warner, the son of Jewish Polish immigrants, joins with his brothers to found one of the world's most iconic film studios. Jane Garland, the troubled daughter of an aspiring actress, can never escape her mother's schemes. Jennifer Jones, a young actress from Oklahoma, wins an Academy Award at twenty-five but struggles with despair despite her fame and glamour. Finally, Stein chronicles the ascent of her own father, Jules Stein, an eye doctor born in Indiana who transforms Hollywood with the creation of an unrivaled agency and studio. These chapters paint a panoramic picture of outsiders pinning their hopes on Los Angeles--then watching as the shadow of those dreams envelopes their loved ones, especially their children, and the city itself. Decades in the making, West of Eden depicts a land of absurdity and treachery in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, Nathanael West, and Joan Didion. As she did in Edie, Stein weaves the personal recollections of hundreds of people into an astonishing tapestry of voices telling the saga of a place like no other. Advance praise for West of Eden: 'In times past, in an effort to capture the edge and feel of Hollywood during its golden age of glamour and noir, Nathanael West, Raymond Chandler, Carey McWilliams, and Joan Didion stretched language and genre to their limits. Jean Stein and West of Eden belong in this company'--Kevin Starr, former California State Librarian and author of California : A History"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Stein, J. (2016). West of Eden: an American place (First edition.). Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Stein, Jean. 2016. West of Eden: An American Place. Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Stein, Jean. West of Eden: An American Place Random House, 2016.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Stein, Jean. West of Eden: An American Place First edition., Random House, 2016.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.